Breakfast in the Field

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 656 (税込)

レーベル:Windham Hill Records
JAN:0019341101727 売上ランキング:音楽で30899位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Layover
  2. The Happy Couple
  3. Eleven Small Roaches
  4. The Funky Avocado
  5. Baby Toes
  6. Breakfast In The Field
  7. Two Days Old
  8. Peg Leg Speed King
  9. The Unexpected Visitor
  10. Silent Anticipations
  11. Lenono
Released in 1981, Breakfast in the Field was part of the thrilling, early '80s rollout of "new acoustic" music unveiled by Windham Hill Records founder Will Ackerman, where each new release and new artist seemed to yield something revelatory. The startling uniqueness of guitarist Michael Hedges's imagination and style, however, was not fully recognized until he introduced a host of tradition-jarring innovations (unexpected tunings, tappings, and rhythmic slaps) on the magnificent Aerial Boundaries three years later. Here, on just the 13th recording to carry the Windham Hill logo, the 28-year-old Hedges involves himself more with straightforward finger-picking technique--which is dazzling--and more of the peaceful, pastoral sound typically associated with early Windham Hill releases. On these terms, the disc (at a brief, vinyl-era 34 minutes) is a quiet, elegant jewel, adorned with endearing melodies ("Eleven Small Roaches," "The Unexpected Visitor"), astonishing displays of nimbleness ("Peg Leg Speed King," "Silent Anticipations"), and hints of quirkiness to come ("The Funky Avocado"). Bassist Michael Manring contributes to several tracks and even pianist George Winston, fresh off the release of Autumn and spurred by the team-spirit togetherness of early Windham Hill, lends a few notes to the reflective concluding track, "Lenono." --Terry Wood