How Long Has This Been Going on

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,759 (税込)

JAN:0025218082129 売上ランキング:音楽で248923位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. I've Got The World On A String
  2. Midnight Sun
  3. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  4. You're Blase
  5. Easy Living
  6. More Than You Know
  7. My Old Flame
  8. Teach Me Tonight
  9. Body And Soul
  10. When Your Lover Has Gone
When Sarah Vaughan recorded this session in 1978, her voice was still one of the finest instruments in jazz, an almost impossible combination of resonant depths, subtly sparkling highs, and myriad slides that could join one note or word to the next. She's accompanied here by an all-star quartet of pianist Oscar Peterson, guitarist Joe Pass, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Louis Bellson. There are moments of inspired exchange and improvisatory brilliance from the quartet, but the emphasis is less on their skills as soloists than on their extraordinary taste, Peterson and Pass revealing once again their special abilities as supporting players, highlighting another artist's every note. Vaughan's performances here of "Midnight Sun" and "Body and Soul" are virtuosic statements, as inspired as anything in her later career. --Stuart Broomer