Work Song

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 3,814 (税込)

JAN:0025218636322 売上ランキング:音楽で393290位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Work Song
  2. Pretty Memory
  3. I've Got A Crush On You
  4. Mean To Me
  5. Fallout
  6. Sack Of Woe
  7. My Heart Stood Still
  8. Violets For Your Furs
  9. Scrambled Eggs
Rather than develop a rivalry with his older brother Cannonball, cornetist Nat Adderley spent most of his first 20 years in jazz making vital contributions (as soloist and composer) to Cannonball's quintet. At various points, however, the younger Adderley reached significant heights with his own outings, including this 1960 gem. Perhaps in search of a distinctive sound, he adds Sam Jones's pizzicato cello to the frontline on five sextet tunes, effectively complementing his own glowing cornet and the guitar artistry of Wes Montgomery. In contrast, he also offers a pair of dreamy ballads with only Montgomery and Jones (on bass) behind him. Everyone from Tennessee Ernie Ford to Bobby Darin would cover Adderley's original title track. Nat's "Fallout," Cannonball's "Sack of Woe," and Jones's "Scrambled Eggs," all featuring the full sextet, find Adderley at his funkiest and also showcase Jones's lively cello. -- Marc Greilsamer