20 All Time Greatest Hits

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 433 (税込)

レーベル:Polydor / Umgd
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で156701位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. I Got You (I Feel Good)
  2. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine, Pt.1
  3. I Got The Feelin'
  4. Mother Popcorn, Pt.1
  5. Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose
  6. Make It Funky, Pt.1
  7. Papa's Got A Brand New Bag, Pt.1
  8. Think
  9. It's A Man's Man's Man's World
  10. Try Me
  11. Night Train
  12. Cold Sweat, Pt.1
  13. Get On The Good Foot
  14. Papa Don't Take No Mess, Pt.1
  15. The Payback
  16. Say It Loud (I'm Black And I'm Proud), Pt.1
  17. Super Bad, Pts.1&2
  18. Hot Pants, Pt.1
  19. Get Up Offa That Thing
  20. Please, Please, Please
A towering figure in postwar American music, for over 40 years James Brown has written, produced, and performed some of the most compelling R&B ever recorded. 20 All Time Greatest Hits! distills Startime!, itself a four-CD set that barely scratched the surface of Brown's prodigious output. As such, this collection concentrates on Brown's best-known records: "I Feel Good," "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag," and "Cold Sweat." The propulsive one- or two-chord vamps with Brown's hoarse, declamatory vocals laid the groundwork for modern funk. It's a perfect starter set for anyone unfamiliar with Brown's work. But be warned--Brown is addictive. Like peanuts and potato chips, it's impossible to stop with just one. Buy this and don't be surprised if one day you find yourself scouring used record bins for a rare copy of Grits and Cornbread. --Steven Mirkin