Frank's Wild Years

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 648 (税込)

JAN:0773308629333 売上ランキング:音楽で158530位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Hang On St. Christopher
  2. Straight To TheTop (Rhumba)
  3. Blow Wind Blow
  4. Temptation
  5. Innocent When You Dream
  6. I'll Be Gone
  7. Yesterday Is Here
  8. Please Wake Me Up
  9. Franks Theme
  10. More Than Rain
  11. Way Down In The Hole
  12. Straight To The Top (Vegas)
  13. I'll Take New York
  14. Telephone Call From Istanbul
  15. Cold Cold Ground
  16. Train Song
  17. Innocent When You Dream (78)
All the voices in Tom Waits' head come out on this CD: the growler (of course), the crooner, the preacher, the screecher, and the Vegas cheese ball. The instrumentation is equally eclectic. (Yep, that's Waits himself playing the "rooster" on the album's best song, "I'll Be Gone.") More memorable moments: "Innocent When You Dream" (both times), the vocal howling at the end of "Blow Wind Blow," and the lovely coughing fit after "I'll Take New York." Frank's Wild Years is the musical remains of a theatrical collaboration between Waits and Kathleen Brennan, originally staged in 1986. It contains nuggets of important practical advice, sure--"never drive a car when you're dead" (from "Telephone Call from Istanbul")--but mostly these songs are fantasy freaks. Frank's is big-time dreamer. It's a dreamy album. Sweet dreams. --Dan Leone