Catherine Wheel

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,439 (税込)

レーベル:Sire / London/Rhino
JAN:0075992741828 売上ランキング:音楽で255348位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Light Bath
  2. His Wife Refused
  3. Ade
  4. Walking
  5. Two Soldiers
  6. Under The Mountain
  7. Dinosaur
  8. The Red House
  9. Wheezing
  10. Eggs In A Briar Patch
  11. Poison
  12. Cloud Chamber
  13. Black Flag
  14. My Big Hands (Fall Through The Cracks)
  15. Combat
  16. Leg Bells
  17. The Blue Flame
  18. Big Business
  19. Dense Beasts
  20. Five Golden Sections
  21. What A Day That Was
  22. Big Blue Plymouth (Eyes Wide Open)
  23. Light Bath
Sounding more like a missing Talking Heads session than anything remotely like David Byrne's 1990s-era work, The Catherine Wheel is at root a display of funky, off-time rhythms and vamps with Byrne involved at every level. The music was composed and produced to accompany a Twyla Tharp-choreographed dance event, and for program music it's brilliant enough to stand alone. The 73 minutes are almost seamless, weaving ambient soundscapes with loopy percussion-backed bass runs with guitar strumming across the top. Byrne shows his command of dramatic scoring here, spreading his wings across a huge range of styles and doing so in a way that sounds both like his old band and entirely different from them. You can hear in The Catherine Wheel where Byrne was heading (i.e., heavily rhythmic music) years before the Heads were disbanded and he ventured into life as a Brazilian- and Latin-music impresario. It's the sound of a young genius having free reign, and as such it's exceptional. --Andrew Bartlett