Beautiful Vision

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,213 (税込)

レーベル:Warner Bros / Wea
JAN:0075992365222 売上ランキング:音楽で167377位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Celtic Ray
  2. Northern Muse
  3. Dweller On The Threshold
  4. Beautiful Vision
  5. She Gives Me Religion
  6. Cleaning Windows
  7. Vanlose Stairway
  8. Aryan Mist
  9. Across The Bridge Where The Angels Dwell
  10. Scandinavia
This 1982 sleeper captures Van Morrison banking the fires of his more urgent, R&B-flavored '70s classics to sculpt a quieter, contemplative synthesis laced with Celtic flourishes, minimalist synthesizers, and the skeletal horn charts of saxophonist Pee Wee Ellis and trumpeter-synthesist Mark Isham. Neither as expansive as the pastoral jazz meditations of the underrated Common One nor as limpid as the glossier, sometimes gloomier confessional pop that dominates his later-'80s albums, Beautiful Vision hews to ballads and loping, midtempo songs that allow Morrison gentle foils for his unmistakable vocal melismas. On its best tracks, "Dweller on the Threshold," "Cleaning Windows," "Vanlose Stairway," and "She Gives Me Religion," he alchemizes soul, gospel, and his own Irish roots in a balance he would often pursue from this point forward. --Sam Sutherland