Orange Crate Art

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 8,714 (税込)

レーベル:Warner Bros / Wea
JAN:0093624542728 売上ランキング:音楽で55293位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Orange Crate Art
  2. Sail Away
  3. My Hobo Heart
  4. Wings Of A Dove
  5. Palm Tree And Moon
  6. Summer In Monterey
  7. San Francisco
  8. Hold Back Time
  9. My Jeanie
  10. Movies Is Magic
  11. This Town Goes Down At Sunset
  12. Lullaby
Here is a view of the Golden State through rose-colored glasses that's as effervescent and intoxicating as pink champagne. Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks trade the roles they occupied nearly three decades ago when they collaborated on songs for the Beach Boys' great lost album, Smile. Orange Crate Art was conceived and overseen by Parks, who brought his old boss Wilson aboard chiefly to give voice to Parks's wistful song cycle. Given that much of the album is set in California, who better than favorite son Wilson to sing these songs? But while Wilson's voice initially evokes images of hot rods and surfboards, here he sings of locomotives and steamboats. Parks's California is a state of mind where time is ephemeral. We're brought to a bucolic yesteryear unmarred by violence and poverty. Orange Crate Art is set in "a world apart." A "hobo heart" is carefree rather than desperate. Time is something to be held back. "Everybody must come home" to a town that shuts down by 8 in the evening because "everybody's got things to do." When all is said and done, there's nothing left but doze off to Parks's pop symphonic arrangement of George Gershwin's "Lullaby." --Steven Stolder