Voice That Is

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 8,657 (税込)

レーベル:Grp Records
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で404428位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. My Ship
  2. The More I See You
  3. These Foolish Things
  4. Waltz For Debby
  5. It Never Entered My Mind
  6. The Day The World Stop Turning
  7. A Slow Hot Wind
  8. Funny World
  9. Joey, Joey, Joey
  10. Let Me Love You
  11. Sunrise, Sunset
Johnny Hartman was unquestionably a great jazz singer, but his brushes with fame have always come from surprising associations: first his collaboration with John Coltrane and then his prominent and posthumous appearance on the soundtrack to The Bridges of Madison County. This 1964 recording demonstrates the art he could bring to both standards and more ephemeral material. The first five tracks have Hartman accompanied by an excellent quartet led by pianist Hank Jones, a key partner on several of the singer's recordings. Guitarist Barry Galbraith adds fittingly liquid solos and completes a great rhythm section with Richard Davis on bass and Osie Johnson on drums. It's an intimate, supremely musical setting that shows Hartman at his best, swinging lightly on "The More I See You" and Bill Evans's "Waltz for Debbie," infusing the ballads with a unique luster. The other tracks come from a session arranged by pianist Bob Hammer, who put together an unusual octet to back Hartman on film and show tunes. The band has Dick Hafer on reeds and a sparkling, expanded rhythm section, which added another guitar, marimba, and percussion to the group for continuous rhythmic detail. Along with Hartman's other Impulse recordings from the period, John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman and I Just Dropped By to Say Hello, this is essential hearing for fans of the jazz ballad. --Stuart Broomer