The Dirty Boogie

定価:¥ 1,308
マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 696 (税込)

レーベル:Interscope Records
JAN:0606949018320 売上ランキング:音楽で97781位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. This Cat's On A Hot Tin Roof
  2. The Dirty Boogie
  3. This Old House
  4. Let's Live It Up
  5. Sleepwalk
  6. Jump Jive An' Wail
  7. You're The Boss
  8. Rock This Town
  9. Since I Don't Have You
  10. Switchblade
  11. Nosey Joe
  12. Hollywood Nocturne
  13. As Long As I'm Singin'
Brian Setzer has spent much of his career revving up already hot retro styles to a booming pitch. While this generally worked in his early years with the rockabilly Stray Cats, it largely fails with his swing orchestra. Louis Prima--whose "Jump Jive an' Wail" is faithfully remade here--wasn't exactly the king of subtlety himself, but even he might have covered his ears at the blare produced by the combination of Setzer's (admittedly sharp) guitar playing and a too-bright horn section. A couple of The Dirty Boogie's cuts are cute ("You're the Boss," an Elvis Presley/Ann-Margret duet, is recast for Setzer and No Doubt frontwoman Gwen Stefani), but fans of the Cherry Poppin' Daddies and Big Bad Voodoo Daddy might think twice. --Rickey Wright