Jazz a Saint-Germain

価格:¥ 8,900 (税込)
レーベル:Higher Octave
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で140179位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Summertime
  2. Les Joyeux Bouchers
  3. Lover Man
  4. Watermelon Man
  5. I'll Be seeing You
  6. Il N'y A Plus D'apres
  7. La Javanaise
  8. Black Coffee
  9. God Bless The Child
  10. Autuor De Minuit
  11. These Foolish Things
  12. La Caravane
  13. Sophisticated Lady
  14. J'suis Snob
Jazz à Saint Germain is a compilation of compelling jazz standards performed in tribute to the Parisian speakeasies that flourished during the German occupation in World War II. Espousing a free-spirited highlife as well as an existential and intellectual aesthetic, the French underground heartily embraced American jazz. Showcasing traditional styles as well as ambitious adaptations that reveal reggae, African, and even hip-hop influences, this collection is tasteful and eclectic. Angélique Kidjo's version of "Summertime" is gently evocative, as is Dee Dee Bridgewater's moving rendition of "Watermelon Man." The Jazz Passengers and Debbie Harry interpret "There Is No More Tomorrow," and French chanteuse François Hardy is joined by Iggy Pop for a version of "I'll Be Seeing You." With artists old and new, Jazz à Saint Germain is a vibrant, engaging affair. --Mitch Myers