Dead Bees on a Cake

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 612 (税込)

レーベル:Virgin Records Us
JAN:0724384707125 売上ランキング:音楽で126572位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. I Surrender
  2. Dobro #1
  3. Midnight Sun
  4. Thalheim
  5. God Man
  6. Alphabet Angel
  7. Krishna Blue
  8. The Shining Of Things
  9. Cafe Europa
  10. Pollen Path
  11. All Of My Mother's Names (Summers With Amma)
  12. Wanderlust
  13. Praise (Pratah Smarami)
  14. Darkest Dreaming
Perhaps the finest achievement of David Sylvian's enigmatic career, Dead Bees on a Cake represents a graceful personal and spiritual exploration. Set to a lush, ethereal, engaging bed of distinctive and sophisticated pop arrangements, it combines the best qualities of Sylvian's post-Japan work. Four years in the making, it is artful and tasteful from the opening Bryan Ferry-style ballad "I Surrender" to the bluesy "Midnight Sun" and the delightful "Krishna Blue." There are contributions from sometime collaborator Ryuichi Sakamoto as well as a classy, eclectic group of musicians including Bill Frisell, Marc Ribot, Talvin Singh, and Sylvian's brother, Steve Hansen, but Sylvian is definitely in the fore here. Dead Bees on a Cake will be a surprising discovery for fans of Sade, John Martyn, and the Blue Nile, and it may afford Sylvian overdue recognition as an uncommonly gifted pop composer and singer. --John Sutton-Smith