The Journey North

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 9,043 (税込)

JAN:0724384721725 売上ランキング:音楽で1118365位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Ceud Mile Failte (A Hundred Thousand Welcomes)
  2. The Journey North
  3. Hadrian's Wall
  4. Cumbrian Autumn (Dove Cottage)
  5. Galloway
  6. The Memory Stone
  7. Loch Ness (The Kelpie)
  8. Celtic Knot
  9. Columcille's Dream
  10. Reaching Iona (Breath Of God)
How widespread popularity has eluded pianist-composer Michael Gettel is a mystery. Anyone who professes a fondness for upbeat, pop-influenced instrumentals from artists such as John Tesh, Craig Chaquico, or Fred Simon certainly would find much to like in Gettel's music. His consistently likable melodies capture a sun-warmed, top-down frame of mind, and a glow of cheerful sophistication shines through in nearly all of his compositions. On The Journey North, Gettel embellishes his pop-rock instincts with assorted Celtic flourishes (Jerry O'Sullivan contributes Uilleann pipes and whistles), yet the album's orientation is decidedly contemporary, not ancient. Gettel is unafraid of putting a slight edge into some of his works, and you'll hear him stretch his parameters a bit in a piece such as "Celtic Knot." The album's most embraceable track, "Galloway," captures all that is right in Gettel's style: a great tune, interesting variations on the original theme, and a storyteller's sense of resolution that is both reassuring and liberating. If you enjoy this, seek out his best album, Skywatching. --Terry Wood