Lucky Peterson

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 5,518 (税込)

JAN:0731454743327 売上ランキング:音楽で781958位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Deal With It
  2. The Otherside
  3. Tribute To Luther Allison
  4. Shake
  5. Funny How Time Slips Away
  6. Why Can't We Live Together
  7. Ask Me Nothing 'Bout The Blues
  8. She's Giving Me The Blues
  9. Seduction
  10. Ta' Ta' You
  11. Don't Cry No More
  12. Ode To Billy Joe
For some reason, this veteran New York blues multi-instrumentalist (or his record company) have decided to make this untitled album look like a debut disc, rather than his fourth for the label. Peterson also appears to have shifted emphasis, recording in Memphis, given a soulful slant. This is particularly evident on the album's ballad middle section. Here, he covers Sam Cooke's "Shake", a stomping anthem with blasting horns, swivels round to deliver the hauntingly minimalist Timmy Thomas classic "Why Can't We Live Together?", then transforms Willie Nelson's "Funny How Time Slips Away" into a high-vaulting soul vocal duet with labelmate Joe Louis Walker. The sequence is rounded off with "Ask Me Nothing 'Bout The Blues", keeping the mood fairly restrained. These numbers tend to showcase Peterson's abilities on his chosen keyboard weapons (Hammond B-3 organ, Hohner clavinet and Wurlitzer piano), but the opening run opts for a rocky funk path, "Deal With It" and "Tribute To Luther Allison" favouring his incendiary lead guitar. The album's final stretch reprises this rolling boogie feel with Earl King's "Seduction" and Johnny Guitar Watson's "Ta' Ta' You". --Martin Longley

ライフログ - この商品を登録しているブログ