Gateway 2

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,444 (税込)

レーベル:Ecm Import
JAN:0042284732321 売上ランキング:音楽で123610位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Opening
  2. Reminiscence
  3. Sing Song
  4. Nexus
  5. Blue
Bassist Dave Holland and drummer Jack DeJohnette have often worked together since their early work with Miles Davis, and they're one of the most accomplished rhythm sections in jazz--fluent, inventive players who add something special to every situation they're heard in. The Gateway trio with guitarist John Abercrombie, though, is one of their most effective vehicles, with an open sound that reveals every detail and encourages an interactive approach. Each member is a gifted improviser, and they're willing to trust spontaneous forms, setting this 1977 session in motion with the extended "Opening," a long group improvisation launched by DeJohnette's detailed drumming. The interplay is just as arresting on the more formal pieces. Abercrombie's "Sing Song" floats at a medium tempo, and the guitarist plays with singing and sustained clarity before Holland solos with a forceful precision. Holland's "Nexus" is an accelerated stream of particles in motion, while "Reminiscences," with almost acoustic guitar, and "Blue," with DeJohnette on piano, are reflective moments enlivened by the same close listening. --Stuart Broomer