Together: The Complete Studio Recordings

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 728 (税込)

JAN:5099747298424 売上ランキング:音楽で76935位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  2. You've Changed
  3. Tangerine
  4. You Can't Go Home Again
  5. How Deep Is The Ocean?
  6. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  7. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You / You've Changed
  8. Autumn Leaves
  9. Concierto De Aranjuez
By the time the two men came together in 1977, Che Baker was prematurely aged by the hard life he'd lived in the underworld of narcotics. He was badly beaten by gangsters in 1968 and lost most of his teeth. He had to give up the trumpet for some time and worked as a petrol station attendant. The delightful Paul Desmond was a gifted and humorous man whose only apparent failing was his inability to stay in one place for more than one night because he believed that a jealous husband was pursuing him around the world to kill him while he was on tour. The tracks here were recorded at two sessions in 1974 and 1977: "You Can't Come Home Again" is Desmond's last ever recording. It's interesting to hear the two men responding so well to the disciplined settings provided for them by CTI, the original record company. Both play with poise and relaxation and each produces some of his best work. This is essentially a poignant album full of good improvising on imaginatively chosen themes ("Concierto de Aranjuez"!) and despite the tendency of Bob James's electronic piano to tinkle, it doesn't interfere. James is only on two tracks, being replaced on the other five by Kenny Barron and Roland Hanna. Anyone who has this album will play it often. --Steve Voce