マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,347 (税込)

レーベル:Warner Bros / Wea
JAN:0766703077762 売上ランキング:音楽で183439位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Courage (Asymmetric Aria)
  2. Belonging (Lopsided Lullaby)
  3. Neverend
  4. Leap Of Faith
  5. Balance
  6. Twilight ... And Beyond
  7. Stoic Revolutions
  8. Suspended Emanations
  9. Last Rites Of Rock 'N' Roll
  10. A Life?
In the early years of his career, saxophonist Joshua Redman at times seemed burdened by expectations raised by record-label hype he knew was only partly justified. Beyond marks his emergence as a fully mature artist. The album includes some of Redman's strongest playing--the gorgeous ballad "Neverend," the slow-building tenor exchange with longtime friend Mark Turner on "Leap of Faith," the tongue-in-cheek grave dance on "Last Rites of Rock 'n' Roll." It also includes some of his most ambitious writing--the 13/4 time signature on "Courage," the 9/4 "Lopsided Lullaby," the 10/4 "Suspended Emanations." Redman's quartet with pianist Aaron Goldberg, bassist Reuben Rogers, and drummer Gregory Hutchinson displays the immediate, organic swing of a real touring band. One complaint, however: at 73 minutes, the album is two or three tracks too long. Whatever happened to the idea of saving a few choice outtakes for the inevitable career rediscovery 30 years from now? --Rick Mitchell