Original Ellington Suite

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 8,326 (税込)

レーベル:Blue Note Records
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で389755位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. In A Mellotone
  2. In A Sentimental Mood
  3. I'm Just A Lucky So And So
  4. Just A-Sittin' And A-Rockin'
  5. Everything But You
  6. Day Dream
  7. I'm Beginning To See The Light
  8. Azure
  9. It Don't Mean A Thing
This previously unreleased album by drummer Chico Hamilton--save three edited tracks that landed on anthologies--would never have been issued if not for dumb luck. Originally recorded for Pacific Jazz in 1958, this collection of such Ellington and Strayhorn pieces as "In a Mellotone" and "I'm Beginning to See the Light" was initially withheld from release by producer Dick Bock. Reissue producer Michael Cuscuna wanted to release it, but never found a tape in the Pacific Jazz vaults. Then a fan named John Cobley discovered a test pressing of the session in a record store in England in 1995, and eventually passed it on to Cuscuna. This reissue was digitally transferred from that LP.

That amazing story aside, the true value of this album is in its musical and historical relevance. It showcases a 30-year-old fast-maturing Eric Dolphy, two years away from gaining major recognition first with Charles Mingus, then with John Coltrane. Here, particularly on "In a Sentimental Mood," alto saxophonist Dolphy displays a deep Charlie Parker influence alongside his emerging unique solo approach that also drew on Ornette Coleman's free-wheeling expressions. "It Don't Mean a Thing" also mixes the two styles, though more of Dolphy's no-holds-barred style is present. He's also spotlighted on flute on "I'm Just a Lucky So and So" and B-flat clarinet on "Azure." Additional high points come from bebop-based guitarist John Pisano, cellist Nate Gershman, bassist Hal Gaylor, and the leader, who all combine with Dolphy to render these deluxe, intricate arrangements with grace and swing. Pisano and Gaylor are also standout soloists. --Zan Stewart