マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 2,112 (税込)

レーベル:Black Box Classics
JAN:0680125105028 売上ランキング:音楽で201169位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. A View From Sea
  2. Rivers Of Tears
  3. Call Of The Mountain
  4. Compassion
  5. Forgiveness
  6. Joy
  7. Movement 1
  8. Movement 2
  9. The Multiples Of One
Joseph Curiale's committed and spirited performances of his own works rely heavily on the tranquil balancing of different orchestral and instrumental sounds. Gates of Gold, for example, dedicated to the Chinese immigrant communities of California, sets off its passionate violin soloist against the bell-like chinoiserie of the percussion, vigorously dancing brass straight out of Copland's ballets and a string sound that owes as much to Hollywood as to minimalism. Awakening is a pantheistic celebration of the composer's survival of serious illness in the Californian countryside. Adelina de Maya portrays Curiale's sister and her love of Iberian and Latin American music--its guitar writing is a deliberate homage to the works of Rodrigo and Villa-Lobos. The short chamber work The Multiples of One is another minimalist piece, with delicate scoring, simple ideas and a repetitiveness that becomes ritual. --Roz Kaveney