Different Prelude-a Contempora

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 4,792 (税込)

レーベル:Polygram Records
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で260401位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Cello Suite No. 1: Prelude - Patrick O'Hearn
  2. Tristan And Isolde: Prelude - Valgardena
  3. Prelude No. 6 In B Minor - Charlie Bisharat
  4. Prelude No.2 - Chris Botti
  5. The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I: Prelude In C - Philippe Saisse
  6. Prelude No. 20 In C Minor - Dawn Atkinson
  7. The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I: Prelude No. 19 - Paul Hanson
  8. Prelude In C Sharp Minor - Steve Erquiaga
  9. Prelude No. 4 In E Minor - Richard Schonherz
  10. Prelude No. 8: The Girl With The Flaxen Hair - Clara Ponty
  11. Prelude Of The Heroic Gate Of Heaven - Tim Story
As this disc's title suggests, none of the contemporary instrumental artists assembled for this project plays it straight with their selected classical selections, yet their imaginative efforts yield a respectful, tuneful, and peaceful retooling of works by Bach and Chopin (three each), plus pieces by Wagner, Rachmaninoff, Debussy, and Satie. Bassist-keyboardist Patrick O'Hearn takes the repeating cello passages from Bach's Cello Suite No. 1 and layers them atop a shimmering, softly pulsing electronic landscape. Violinist Charlie Bisharat, accompanied by guitarist Wayne Johnson, introduces flamenco-like brushstrokes to Chopin's Prelude No. 6 in B Minor. Pianist-keyboardist Philippe Saisse adds a jazz twist to a lovely, beguiling interpretation of Bach (No. 1 in C Minor). Trumpeter Chris Botti takes a George Gershwin composition (Prelude No. 2) and expresses it as a smoky, sultry mood piece. Dawn Atkinson, who produced A Different Mozart and has overseen many past Windham Hill compilations, also produces this project involving, among others, Windham Hill alumni. She debuts as an artist as well, putting an angelic, keyboard-based spin on Chopin's Prelude No. 20 in C Minor. A nice package. --Terry Wood