Anne Sofie von Otter meets Elvis Costello: For the Stars

作曲 Elvis Costello , 指揮 Elvis Costello , 作曲 Burt Bacharach , 作曲 Ruben Blades , 作曲 Cait O'Riordan , 作曲 Fleshquartet , 演奏 Anne Sofie von Otter , 演奏 Svante Henryson , 演奏 Benny Andersson
マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,956 (税込)

JAN:0028946953020 売上ランキング:音楽で6884位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. No Wonder
  2. Baby Plays Around
  3. Go Leave
  4. Rope
  5. Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)
  6. Broken Bicycles / Junk
  7. The Other Woman
  8. Like An Angel Passing Through My Room
  9. Green Song
  10. April After All
  11. You Still Believe In Me
  12. I Want To Vanish
  13. For No One
  14. Shamed Into Love
  15. Just A Curio
  16. This House Is Empty Now
  17. Take It With Me
  18. For The Stars
For the Stars is the result of a unique collaboration between songwriting legend Elvis Costello and Anne Sofie Von Otter, one of the world's leading mezzo-sopranos. Working with a host of acclaimed musicians, including Abba's Benny Andersson, Costello takes Von Otter out of the concert hall and off the opera stage, and into Stockholm's Atlantis studios, birthplace of Abba's early albums. The outcome is an hour-long disc of 18 perfectly-crafted tracks, including several new numbers penned by Costello as well as songs by the likes of Tom Waits, Benny Andersson and Bjn Ulvaeus, and Lennon and McCartney. Throughout, Otter's warm and elegant voice is utterly captivating, adding a new dimension to many familiar songs (I defy anyone not to be touched by her heartbreaking rendition of "Baby Plays Around"). On the handful of tracks where both Otter and Costello sing, her controlled and refined tones contrast with--and complement--his familiar gruffness. Instrumental colour also has a vital role to play--credited instruments include: celeste, Hammond organ, accordion, marimba, flugelhorn, baritone guitar, electric five-string violin and Moog bass. In his liner note, Costello explains that many songs had to be discarded along way, so here's to For the Stars II --Rebecca Agnew