Baby Plays Around

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,028 (税込)

レーベル:Concord Records
JAN:0013431494423 売上ランキング:音楽で641483位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. But Not For Me
  2. Baby Plays Around
  3. Centerpiece
  4. Marie
  5. Let's Get Lost
  6. Love
  7. Billie's Bounce
  8. Everything Happen's To Me
  9. Parker's Mood
  10. All The Things You Are
  11. I Keep Going Back To Joe's
  12. All Of You
  13. You Are Too Beautiful
It might surprise Curtis Stigers' many fans, but on Baby Plays Around he moves successfully into a jazz groove. His throatily intense singing voice, admirably suited to his previous blue-eyed soul excursions, proves a decided asset in a jazz context. In a well-chosen programme, he delivers assured performances of an original, "Love", composed by pianist Larry Goldings with lyrics by Stigers, some jazz pieces, including Charlie Parker's "Billie's Bounce" and "Parker's Mood", and several standards on which he interprets the lyrics with intelligence and sincerity. Guesting on three tracks is trumpeter Randy Brecker, whose encouragement was behind this new departure for the singer. However, the instrumental standout belongs to Goldings, perhaps better known as a soul-jazz organist, who here turns in excellent piano accompaniment and solos. Long-time fans of Stigers will doubtless be intrigued by this set and should enjoy it thoroughly, while jazz fans who have not previously heard him are in for a pleasant surprise. --Bruce Crowther