Rock Action

価格:¥ 2,980 (税込)
レーベル:Matador Records
JAN:0744861049029 売上ランキング:音楽で341153位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Sine Wave
  2. Take Me Somewhere Nice
  3. O I Sleep
  4. Dial: Revenge
  5. You Don't Know Jesus
  6. Robot Chant
  7. 2 Rights Make 1 Wrong
  8. Secret Pint
ストア:BOOKOFF Online ヤフー店
The Glaswegian lads in Mogwai continue to tinker with their instrumental rock formula. Whereas Young Team featured the loud-soft dynamic gleaned from Velvet Underground and Come On Die Young copped Sonic Youth's moody experimentalism, Rock Action adds a dash of Yo La Tengo's hushed ambience and Flaming Lips' studio-savvy playfulness (no surprise there--Rock Action was produced by Lips collaborator and Mercury Rev-ster David Fridmann.) Despite quoting from such a heavy lineup of musical mischief makers, Mogwai craft their own sound, largely due to the melodic narratives they conjure up in the interplay between the three guitarists. With hardly a spoken whisper in the mix, they manage to create great moments of drama, tension, and resolution. "Take Me Somewhere Nice" is a meandering journey toward the promised land, "You Don't Know Jesus" wanders with mystical and loopy abandon, and "Secret Pint" thrums in stately glory. One of the great things about Mogwai is that they are still so damned young--if they continue to kick against the pricks of their own invention we'll be hearing much more inventive and wonderful music from them in years to come. --Tod Nelson