Rocket to Russia

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 690 (税込)

JAN:0081227430924 売上ランキング:音楽で99706位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Cretin Hop
  2. Rockaway Beach
  3. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  4. Locket Love
  5. I Don't Care
  6. Sheena Is A Punk Rocker
  7. We're A Happy Family
  8. Teenage Lobotomy
  9. Do You Wanna Dance?
  10. I Wanna Be Well
  11. I Can't Give You Anything
  12. Ramona
  13. Surfin' Bird
  14. Why Is It Always This Way?
  15. Needles & Pins (Early Version)
  16. Slug (Demo)
  17. It's A Long Way Back To Germany (U.K. B-Side)
  18. I Don't Care (Single Version)
  19. Sheena Is A Punk Rocker (Single Version)
"Our records have the bitterness of life in them," quoth Dee Dee Ramone, and Rocket to Russia brought the pain. Despite carrying on the celebratory tone of the Ramones' debut and Leave Home in the likes of "Sheena Is a Punk Rocker," "Cretin Hop," a tribute to dirty "Rockaway Beach," and covers of the Trashmen and "Do You Wanna Dance?" their third LP displays a dark humor that's less jokey than the previous releases' goofs on bad mental health and dysfunctional relationships. The group's best-produced of its first three releases, Rocket achieves an almost smooth texture thanks to a clean mix and increased use of Beach Boys-inspired vocal harmonies. Still, the joyous grind of Johnny's guitar is front and center for much of this enduring album. Rhino's refurbished version offers five bonus tracks, including a rough early version of "It's a Long Way Back to Germany" and a demo, "Slug," which imagines (?) a world crawling with insects. --Rickey Wright