New York State of Mind

価格: (税込)
レーベル:Sony Jazz
JAN:5099750337523 売上ランキング:音楽で43573位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. New York state of mind
  2. What a difference a day made
  3. Exactly like you
  4. Superstar
  5. Tennessee waltz
  6. Do you know what it means to miss New Orleans
  7. Saving all my love for you
  8. Tears in heaven
  9. I left my heart in San Francisco
  10. On the street where you live
  11. Fly me to the moon (in other words)
  12. What's new
  13. All in love is fair
With relaxed confidence Keiko Lee brings to New York State Of Mind a wistfully attractive vocal sound allied to increased maturity. On her earlier CDs, Keiko was mostly accompanied by front-line jazz instrumentalists. Here, she boldly presents her vocals with only her own piano accompaniment. Singer-pianists are rare, good ones even harder to find; Keiko is one of that rarest group of artists. Her piano playing, briefly heard on some of her other albums, is given full rein here. Not only does she support her own singing with skill and ingenuity, she also demonstrates considerable ability as a piano soloist. Her long introductory passage on "Exactly Like You", for example, displays an awareness of stride filtered through post-bop sensibilities. Her repertoire is richly varied, drawing upon great songbook standards, latter-day pop composers such as Billy Joel, Stevie Wonder and Eric Clapton, and from jazz. Keiko sings all of these songs with gently persuasive authority and understated charm. --Bruce Crowther