演奏 Brian Lemon , 演奏 Dave Green
マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 2,528 (税込)

Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で1524129位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
  2. Ghost Of A Chance
  3. It Had To Be You
  4. Don't Blame Me
  5. I Cover The Waterfront
  6. You've Changed
  7. Poor Butterfly
  8. I Can't Get Started
  9. Our Love Is Hear To Stay
  10. Body and Soul
  11. If Dreams Come True
  12. April In Paris
  13. Embraceable You
Thirteen classic standards and intimate jazz playing of the highest quality make Dreams a CD that offers adventure within tradition. Tony Coe on tenor and Gerard Presencer on flugelhorn may be a generation apart but they combine here almost telepathically with sympathetic backing from Brian Lemon's piano and the bass of Dave Green. Ten of these 13 songs were recorded by Billie Holiday and tempos range only from slow to medium-slow, but the imagination and harmonic sophistication of the two frontliners guarantee that this is no sentimental revivalist exercise. Nevertheless their respect for these songs and the tradition they belong to is evident in the depth of feeling brought to these renditions. In this sort of context Coe's tone and phrasing clearly recall Paul Gonsalves, yet Coe matches the latter's involvement in the music while conveying a strong identity of his own as well. Presencer's clear-toned flugelhorn provides an ideal complement and the fresh routines include unexpected obbligatos and unaccompanied frontline solos and duets. Further solo contributions from Lemon and a few from Green sustain the moods with sensitivity and this is a superlative example of contemporary British jazz. --Graham Colombé