All This Useless Beauty (Bonus CD)

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 6,915 (税込)

レーベル:Rhino / Wea
JAN:0081227428426 売上ランキング:音楽で403988位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
Disc : 1
  1. The Other End Of The Telescope
  2. Little Atoms
  3. All This Useless Beauty
  4. Complicated Shadows
  5. Why Can't A Man Stand Alone?
  6. Distorted Angel
  7. Shallow Grave
  8. Poor Fractured Atlas
  9. Starting To Come To Me
  10. You Bowed Down
  11. It's Time
  12. I Want To Vanish
Disc : 2
  1. Almost Ideal Eyes
  2. My Dark Life (with Brian Eno)
  3. That Day Is Done (with The Fairfield Four)
  4. What Do I Do Now?
  5. The Bridge I Burned
  6. It's Time (demo)
  7. Complicated Shadows (demo)
  8. You Bowed Down
  9. Mistress And Maid (demo)
  10. Distorted Angel (demo)
  11. World's Greatest Optimist (demo)
  12. The Only Flame In Town (demo)
  13. The Comedians (demo)
  14. The Days Take Care Of Everything (demo)
  15. Hidden Shame (demo)
  16. Why Can't A Man Stand Alone (demo)
  17. Distorted Angel (Tricky Remix)
Elvis Costello's final album for Warner Bros. might have been even more widely ignored had he and the Attractions not gone on tour to support it. The result led to a final split, but All This Useless Beauty still ended up doing little business. This reissue, part of Rhino's first wave of a Costello remaster/refurbishing campaign, provides an opportunity to hear mostly exemplary songwriting and assuredly masterful performances. Darkly observant and even witty, tracks like "The Other End of the Telescope" (a rewrite of a Costello-Aimee Mann collaboration), "Distorted Angel," and "Starting to Come to Me" could take their places on anyone's mix tape. (The snarling "Complicated Shadows," one of the few full-on rockers here, even made it as far as a Sopranos episode.) Costello overreaches on the title track, but its sophisticated tone works just about everywhere else it's tried. The bonus disc of demos and one-offs is necessarily a sonic hodgepodge, but it's a damn fine long-player on its own. Costello's liner notes are, as always, a must. --Rickey Wright