価格:¥ 8,891 (税込)
レーベル:Warner Classics
JAN:0809274011725 売上ランキング:音楽で22205位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Vespera
  2. Ave Maria
  3. Lacrymosa
  4. Sacris Solemnis
  5. Attendite
  6. Gaudete
  7. Silencium
  8. Semele
  9. Luminosa
  10. Stabat
  11. Veni Sancte
  12. Sanctus II
Luminosa is the follow-up to London boys' vocal group Libera's popular 1999 eponymous debut. That album made the pop charts and found the group--they prefer to be called a real boy band rather than a choir--on television with Lesley Garrett. Of the 12 new tracks, half are arrangements of familiar classical melodies. Saint-Saëns' Carnival of the Animals is represented by a mysterious reinterpretation of "Aquarium", rather than "The Swan" suggested by the cover. Of the remaining pieces one is an arrangement of the traditional "Gaudete", and five are new compositions by Libera's director, Robert Prizeman. His "Silencium", a setting of Walter de la Mare's "All That's Past", has the haunting calm of Enya, while "Sabat" carries the boys' voices to the top of their range to ghostly effect. Drawing on the entire classical tradition, from the plainsong of "Veni Sancte" to a decidedly incongruous remake of Beethoven's Symphony No.7, Prizeman weaves a New Age tapestry from beautiful young voices and polished production techniques. Classical purists will be aghast at Handel and Debussy sharing space with digital sound sculpting, which leaves Luminosa free to find a home as easily accessible, superior background music. --Gary S Dalkin

ライフログ - この商品を登録しているブログ