Our Time Is Coming

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 3,935 (税込)

レーベル:Tommy Boy
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で309996位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Mr. V
  2. Like A Butterfly (You Send Me)
  3. Backfired
  4. Work
  5. MAW Expensive (A Tribute To Fela)
  6. Our Time Is Coming
  7. Lovin'
  8. Every Now And Then
  9. Lean On Me
  10. Life Is But A Dream
  11. Back In The Day
  12. Latin Lover
  13. Pienso En Ti (I Think Of You)
  14. Deep & Dirty
  15. Michele's Message
Founders of the "Nuyorican sound," Masters at Work, a.k.a. "Little" Louie Vega and Kenny "Dope" Gonzalez, were the most revolutionary house production team of the '90s, so imitated that their innovations are now clich駸. Latin percussion, joyous vocals, and natural drum beats are MAW trademarks, levitating dance floors with the band's infectious feeling of ecstasy and energy. If ever there was a massive dance floor filler, it was MAW's 1997 record, Nuyorican Soul, and now, Our Time Is Coming. With cameos by Patti Austin, James Ingram, and Stephanie Mills, the album doesn't break new ground. It simply proves that MAW still write/remix great songs that are more organic and soulful than any current house offerings. Highlights include the Afrobeat-tinged "MAW Expensive (A Tribute to Fela)," Mills's gospel fire on "Latin Lover," and Roy Ayers's glorious vibes solo on the title track. Taking credit for saving a WTC life in "Michelle's Message" is totally crass, but MAW handle even that with style. --Ken Micallef

ライフログ - この商品を登録しているブログ