マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 6,735 (税込)

レーベル:Warner Bros / Wea
JAN:0093624801122 売上ランキング:音楽で286182位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Groovin'
  2. Brown Sugar
  3. Ruby Baby
  4. A Woman's Worth
  5. Hip Hug Her
  6. Mercy Mercy Mercy
  7. Let's Do It Again
  8. It's Your Thing
  9. Povo
  10. Up For The Downstroke
This concept sounds like the set-up for a joke: What do you get when you cross three smooth-jazzers with topnotch straight-ahead players? Turns out Norman Brown, Kirk Whalum, and Rick Braun have the last laugh and a damn good time. While they may be three of the most distinct stylists in smooth jazz, they had to turn up the pots to cook with bassist Christian McBride and drummer Gregory Hutchinson. Keyboardist Ricky Peterson, maybe the funkiest organist in contemporary jazz outside of Larry Goldings, plays a producing role and is probably the MVP of BWB. The players aren't the only stars. The impeccable choice of 10 well-known cover tunes adds to an unapologetically fun record that allows B, W, and B to stretch out much more than they do on other recordings. Braun quotes Freddie Hubbard on "Povo," while Whalum explores Cannonball Adderley on "Mercy, Mercy, Mercy," and Brown pays back Wes Montgomery throughout the proceedings. From the sexually charged "Let's Do It Again," featuring a purring Dee Dee Bridgewater and a scatting Brown, to the inspired arrangements of Alicia Keys's "A Woman's Worth" and D'Angelo's "Brown Sugar," there are no holes in any of these grooves. --Mark Ruffin

ライフログ - この商品を登録しているブログ