Simple Truth

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 3,332 (税込)

レーベル:Native Language
JAN:0014062092620 売上ランキング:音楽で167768位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. 3-Day Weekend
  2. Voices
  3. Show Me Love
  4. A Quiet Goodbye
  5. The Good Life
  6. Simple Truth
  7. Mediterranean Nights Intro
  8. Mediterranean Nights
  9. Something About You
  10. Thanks To You
If spending 10 years with the Rippingtons, then going solo with one of the most played singles in the history of smooth-jazz radio (2000's "Hyde Park (The 'Ah, Ooh' Song") didn't prove that Kashiwa has learned the formula for airplay success, his fourth album will. He's the everyman smooth saxer throughout Simple Truth, sounding like Dave Koz overdubbing his horns on the Steely Dan-influenced "The Good Life," and Marion Meadows on the title track. Meanwhile, "A Quiet Goodbye" is very reminiscent of the David Sanborn/Bob James chestnut "Moon Tune" from Double Vision. Of course, it's natural that he sounds like "that guy from the Ripps" on "Voices" and "Something About You," plus he's aided by former band mates keyboardist Dave Kochanski and the great percussionist Steve Reid. It would be wrong and offensive to label Kashiwa a generic saxophonist, because there is a dash more respect for traditional jazz in his soloing than the literal lip service paid by many smooth horn players; like the genre itself, Kashiwa is the sum of all his influences. If there is such a thing as a pure smooth-jazz artist, this talented saxophonist might fit the bill. --Mark Ruffin