Something Cool

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 2,797 (税込)

JAN:0089408354823 売上ランキング:音楽で283946位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66!
  2. Something Cool
  3. Wouldn't It Be Loverly
  4. I've Grown Accustomed To His Face
  5. Show Me
  6. Comes Love
  7. Reflections
  8. Alone Together
  9. Out Of This World
  10. All Or Nothing At All
  11. Ding-Dong! The Witch Is Dead
  12. Walkin' After Midnight
  13. Crazy
  14. The Best Is Yet To Come
ティエニー・サットン TIERNEY SUTTON Something Cool
This is Sutton's third CD in as many years, and it marks her rapid maturation into one of the most complete contemporary jazz singers, one who can range from high-speed scat to moody, emotion-charged ballads. She can fly through chord changes with real harmonic invention, as on her witty version of "Ding-dong! The Witch Is Dead," while her wistful way with a ballad recalls June Christy on the title song. Her warmth shows on Willie Nelson's "Crazy," with pianist Christian Jacob's jazz harmonies helping to develop Sutton's personal take on the country standard. She's joined here by her working trio of Jacob, Trey Henry on bass, and Ray Brinker on drums, and the group sounds both inspired and inspiring, alert to the nuances in Sutton's vocals and quick to supply any needed stimulus. The trio's welling power on the modally inflected "Out of this World" prods Sutton to some stunning high notes, while several special moments arise between Sutton and Henry, as on "Alone Together," with her voice intertwining with his elastic bass glissandos. This is varied and entertaining work, with Sutton's musicianship apparent everywhere. --Stuart Broomer