Detroit Experiment

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 6,385 (税込)

レーベル:Rope a Dope
JAN:0075679313829 売上ランキング:音楽で133849位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Think Twice
  2. Space Odyssey
  3. Midnight At The 20 Grand
  4. Too High
  5. Revelation (Instrumental)
  6. Interlude
  7. Church
  8. There Is A G-D
  9. Baby Needs New Shoes
  10. Space Break
  11. The Way We Make Music
  12. Unknown
  13. Bonus Track 1
  14. Bonus Track 2
In this talent-packed project, a varied cast of Detroit players were thrown into a studio for a few days to see what would happen. Produced by techno pioneer Carl Craig, the lineup includes jazz heavies (reedist Bennie Maupin, trumpeter Marcus Belgrave, pianist Geri Allen, and violin sensation Regina Carter), Motown session players (guitarist Percy Hughes and drummer Ron Otis), and various hip-hop and electronic people. The result is a tidy musical package crammed with rich ambient textures, percolating rhythms (stellar percussionist Francisco Mora sees to that), and strong grooves that still leave enough room for the jazz folk to solo comfortably. Ranging from the smooth-jazz-like "Revelation" to the interstellar bop of "Space Odyssey" to the outright hip-hop of "The Way We Make Music" to a surreal reading of Stevie Wonder's "Too High," the 14 tracks here have a little something for everyone, without sacrificing quality. Rarely has this new electro-jazz-hip-hop hybrid had such soul, but what else would you expect from Detroit? --Tad Hendrickson

ライフログ - この商品を登録しているブログ