World Without Tears

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 501 (税込)

レーベル:Lost Highway
JAN:0008817035529 売上ランキング:音楽で171103位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Fruits of My Labor
  2. Righteously
  3. Ventura
  4. Bleeding Fingers
  5. Over Time
  6. Those Three Days
  7. Atonement
  8. Sweet Side
  9. Minneapolis
  10. People Talkin'
  11. American Dream
  12. World Without Tears
  13. Words Fell
Most artists who appeal to adult listeners tend to settle into a comfortable niche, but Lucinda Williams refuses to play it safe. Instead, her music stings like an open wound, as she continues to strip away the protective layers from her art's emotional core. Though Williams has long been prized for the naked honesty of her music, this collection is even rawer than its predecessors. From the down-and-dirty bar-band blues of "Atonement" to the Rolling Stones-style swagger of "Bleeding Fingers" to the tricky balance of debasement and transcendence in "Ventura," Williams leaves the nerve endings of her music exposed. With the band opting for first-take immediacy rather than polish, some of the most powerful material is also the neediest, as the singer addresses lovers who have disrespected her ("Righteously") or abandoned her ("Those Three Days," "Minneapolis"). Though her attempts at rap on "Sweet Side" and "American Dream" might cause diehard fans to wince, her willingness to take creative chances reaffirms her position at the vanguard of a rootsy progressivism that transcends musical category. Simply put, there's more Patti Smith in her than there is Patsy Cline. --Don McLeese

ライフログ - この商品を登録しているブログ