Jesus Christ Superstar: A DECCA Broadway Original Cast Album

定価:¥ 1,292
マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 730 (税込)

レーベル:Decca U.S.
JAN:0044006773421 売上ランキング:音楽で34271位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Heaven On Their Minds
  2. Everything's Alright
  3. This Jesus Must Die
  4. Hosanna
  5. Pilate's Dream
  6. I Don't Know How To Love Him
  7. Gethsemane (I Only Want To Say)
  8. King Herod's Song
  9. Could We Start Again, Please
  10. Judas' Death
  11. Trial Before Pilate
  12. Superstar
  13. John Nineteen: Forty One
Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice's Jesus Christ Superstar is most familiar from its original concept recording or film soundtrack, so it's a long-overdue treat to have the 1971 original Broadway cast finally available on CD. It's a great listen, anchored by Ben Vereen's powerhouse performance as Judas, complemented by Jeff Fenholt as Christ and, from the original recording and the film, Yvonne Elliman and Barry Dennen as Mary Magdalene and Pilate, respectively. The major drawback, however, is that there's only 44 minutes of highlights, or roughly half the score, so this CD should be considered a complement to the other recordings rather than the definitive version. The selections are intelligent, however, and include the ballad "Could We Start Again Please?" (which was written after the original concept recording) and a puzzling "I Don't Know How to Love Him" in which Elliman either plays with or loses track of the rhythm. The booklet includes photos and notes on the show and the Broadway production. --David Horiuchi