マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 555 (税込)

レーベル:Cash Money
JAN:0602498623688 売上ランキング:音楽で199021位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. La Dona - Intro
  2. I'm Still In Love
  3. Honey Call
  4. Baby I'm Your Fiend
  5. My Body's Hungary
  6. A Rose By Any Other Name
  7. Off The Chain
  8. Makavelli Never Lied
  9. Revelations 3:8 Introduction
  10. Recycle Hate To Love
  11. The Mackin' Game
  12. I Love Him Too
  13. I Got You
  14. Hit Me Where I Live
  15. High Yellow Girl
  16. Black Rain
  17. I'm On Fire
After a decade's absence, Teena Marie returns as Cash Money's Godmother. On this evidence, her reign as La Dona should be as sweet as when she was known as Lady T. At nearly 80 minutes, the CD sprawls with the fervor of something once pent-up; surprisingly, it really doesn't feel overlong. Teena Marie has barely lost a step, either as a vocalist or as the original thinker who won over audiences back in the day. "Makavelli Never Lied" is a tribute to the erotic power of music that namechecks everyone from the title rapper to John Lennon, while "My Body's Hungry," "Baby I'm Your Fiend," and duets with Gerald Levert and old cohort Rick James are a touch more direct in acknowledging the bedroom side of the equation. Elsewhere, she cops to a dancehall influence ("Recycle Hate to Love") and brings a tribute to daughter Alia Rose ("High Yellow Girl"). La Dona is one of the year's most welcome releases--and not only because it's good to have an old friend back on wax. --Rickey Wright