マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 2,261 (税込)

レーベル:Decca U.S.
JAN:0602498636282 売上ランキング:音楽で393734位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Bricklayer's Beautiful Daughter
  2. Anne's Song
  3. The Impending Death Of The Virgin Spirit
  4. Pictures
  5. Hawk Circle
  6. Barbara's Song
  7. Unconditional
  8. Visiting
  9. Processional
  10. In A Region Of Clouds
  11. Last Day At The Beach
Guitarist Will Ackerman has often re-recorded his own songs, coming back years later with new interpretations and perhaps more refined techniques. Returning, however, consists entirely of new recordings of songs from the Ackerman archives. The founder of Windham Hill records, this is his first recording off the label since founding the company in 1976. He sold it in 1992, but has continued on it as an artist until now. Cynics might view this as a ploy to retain control of his catalogue, a common practice for artists who jump labels.

Returning is thus a greatest hits CD, albeit of all new performances. The playing and recording are sharper here than on those old Windham Hill favorites and Ackerman's compositions have rarely sounded more poignant. "Unconditional" appears even more classical and ruminative than it's original, while the new version of "The Bricklayer's Beautiful Daughter" makes the 1977 version sound antique, like a dusty slack-stringed balalaika from the attic. Drawing from his more plaintive repertoire, Ackerman leaves songs like the bluegrass-tinged "The Pink Chiffon Tricycle Queen" and collaborations with Buckethead behind. What remains are songs that have become old-friends to Will Ackerman fans, newly polished and slightly refurbished. --John Diliberto