Chaos & Creation in the Backyard

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 3,152 (税込)

JAN:0094633829923 売上ランキング:音楽で300598位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Fine Line
  2. How Kind Of You
  3. Jenny Wren
  4. At The Mercy
  5. Friends To Go
  6. English Tea
  7. Too Much Rain
  8. A Certain Softness
  9. Riding To Vanity Fair
  10. Follow Me
  11. Promise To You Girl
  12. This Never Happened Before
  13. Anyway
Sir Paul is an elder statesman now, but Chaos and Creation in the Backyard finds him in considered and tastefully restrained form, penning songs worthy of his finest hour. McCartney crafts this collection of songs with exquisite balance, lining up haunting chimes and heartfelt lyrics ("Riding to Vanity Fair") alongside pounding "Hey Bulldog"-esque chords and eerily Beatles-ish multitracked vocals ("Promise to You Girl," "Fine Line") and, most impressively, distinctively new yet timeless gems of songcraft ("Anyway," "Jenny Wren"). Emotionally, Chaos and Creation manages to avoid being mired in oversentimentality, while retaining a powerful, understated sincerity. Poignant though it is, however, the record is essentially positive and hopeful: Sir Paul's playfulness beams through in his intonation, which picks up a line such as "It's not right/In your life/Too much rain" and breathes life and optimism into its words. "English Tea" completes the package, an unrepentantly twee serving of Anglo-nostalgia with recorder. Chaos and Creation in the Backyard displays the full range of McCartney's inimitable talent, presenting listeners with one of his finest solo albums. --Jonti Davies

More Paul McCartney


Band on the Run


Flaming Pie

Wingspan: Hits and History

Run Devil Run