Weight Is a Gift

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 2,917 (税込)

Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で217061位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Concrete Bed
  2. Do It Again
  3. Always Love
  4. What Is Your Secret?
  5. Your Legs Grow
  6. All Is a Game
  7. Blankest Year
  8. Comes a Time
  9. In the Mirror
  10. Armies Walk
  11. Imaginary Friends
Produced with Death Cab for Cutie's Chris Walla, The Weight is a Gift is a less elliptical musical offering than Let Go. Just as that 2003 recording put Nada Surf back on the map, after several years stuck in post-major label limbo, their fourth full-length proves its success was no fluke. As before, singer/guitarist Matthew Caws is as much lovesick dreamer as pop culture junkie. Last time around, he was extolling the pleasures of Blonde on Blonde, now it's Paris, Texas ("Comes a Time") and "Lenny Bruce's Bug Eyes" ("Imaginary Friends"). Ultimately though, it's the more emotionally direct material that leaves the biggest impression, like "Your Legs Grow" and "Always Love" (the only song that sounds a little like Death Cab). The one exception would be the fuzzed-out, but still poppy "The Blankest Year," which deviates into darker territory, like the Hollies covering Iggy Pop's "Lust for Life." --Kathleen C. Fennessy