Speak for Yourself

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 605 (税込)

レーベル:RCA Victor
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で133332位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Headlock
  2. Goodnight and Go
  3. Have You Got It In You?
  4. Loose Ends
  5. Hide and Seek
  6. Clear The Area
  7. Daylight Robbery
  8. The Walk
  9. Just For Now
  10. I Am In Love With You
  11. Closing In
  12. The Moment I Said It
If the voice sounds familiar, that may be because a couple of tracks have been featured on The O.C., while Frou Frou's "Let Go" appeared in Garden State. (Frou Frou is a collaboration between Heap and producer Guy Sigsworth.) Her sophomore release, after a UK-only debut, is a fine showcase for the singer/songwriter's swooping vocals. Her style, which incorporates layers of multi-tracking, lies somewhere between Sinead O'Connor's banshee howl and Jem's more delicate musings. There's more of a groove to her ouvre, however. At times, she almost sounds like Norway's Annie--by way of Kate Bush. The overall effect is plush and luxurious, if occasionally generic (a more stripped-down approach would really allow that instrument to shine). The one song that doesn't quite fit the electro-pop pattern is the vocoder-saturated "Hide and Seek," in which Heap enters Laurie Anderson territory (specifically 1982's "O Superman"). It's a risk that pays off, although its placement midway through the recording threatens to throw the balance off. (It would have made more sense at the end.) Aside from writing and singing, the multi-talented musician also recorded and produced Speak for Yourself. --Kathleen C. Fennessy