Billy Elliot the Musical

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,999 (税込)

レーベル:Decca Broadway
JAN:0602498765487 売上ランキング:音楽で109675位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
Disc : 1
  1. The Stars Look Down
  2. Shine
  3. Grandma's Song
  4. Solidarity
  5. Expressing Yourself
  6. The Letter
  7. Born To Boogie
  8. Angry Dance
  9. Merry Christmas Maggie Thatcher
  10. Deep Into The Ground
  11. He Could Be A Star
  12. Electricity
  13. Once We Were Kings
  14. The Letter - Reprise
  15. Finale
Disc : 2
  1. The Letter - John, Elton
  2. Merry Christmas Maggie Thatcher - John, Elton
  3. Electricity - John, Elton
Based on the 2000 film about a young British boy who tries to escape a future as coalminer by training in ballet, Billy Elliot--The Musical feels like an exemplary screen-to-stage adaptation, making the best use of composer Elton John's melodic resourcefulness. Fans of John's regular output need to be warned that this album is show tunes all the way and that they'd be hard-pressed to recognize the songs as usual fare by the author of "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" and "Your Song." Still, they really should give the CD a chance. Fans of musical theater, on the other hand, will need no prodding. They are likely to be enchanted by this recording, which shows that John has thoroughly absorbed the genre's classic strain. The show is very catchy, with well-structured, dramatic songs and some genuine tearjerkers ("The Letter"). Sir Elton even proves he's listened to great "jazz hands" classics (some by Kander and Ebb, perhaps) on "Shine," which even requests some "ol' razzle dazzle." Teaming up not with usual lyricist Bernie Taupin but with the film's screenwriter, Lee Hall (and its director, Stephen Daldry), John has written a lovely stage score, as evidenced on this recording of the London cast. Note that John himself performs three songs from the show on a bonus CD. --Elisabeth Vincentelli