Pay the Devil

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 2,641 (税込)

レーベル:Lost Highway
JAN:0602498762905 売上ランキング:音楽で242536位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. There Stands The Glass
  2. Half As Much
  3. Things Have Gone To Pieces
  4. Big Blue Diamonds
  5. Playhouse
  6. Your Cheatin' Heart
  7. Don't You Make Me High
  8. My Buckets Got A Hole In It
  9. Back Street Affair
  10. Pay The Devil
  11. What Am I Living For
  12. This Has Got To Stop
  13. Once A Day
  14. More and More
  15. Till I Gain Control Again
With stunning album-length explorations of jazz and 1950s acoustic skiffle and a country-rockabilly collaboration with Linda Gail Lewis behind him, Van Morrison continues exploring classic country with compelling reinterpretations of standards from the 1950s to the 1970s. He reaches back over half a century for Hank Williams Sr.'s "Half As Much," "Your Cheatin' Heart," and "My Bucket's Got a Hole in It" and Webb Pierce's landmark honky-tonk hits "Back Street Affair," "There Stands the Glass," and "More and More." Moving to the mid-'60s, he capably explores George Jones's "Things Have Gone to Pieces" and Connie Smith's "Once a Day." The 1970s are his limit, however, as he probes Rodney Crowell's "'Til I Gain Control Again." Three Morrison originals blend nicely into this mix, as do two non-country favorites: Chuck Willis's "What Am I Living For" and a gleeful spin on Blue Lu Barker's 1938 jazzy, single-entendre favorite "Don't You Make Me High." Recorded in Ireland with uncluttered hard-country backing, Pay the Devil reiterates Morrison's own musical diversity and flair for making any song his own. --Rich Kienzle

Recommended Van Morrison

Astral Weeks


It's Too Late to Stop Now

Tupelo Honey

Into the Music

Saint Dominic's Preview