Blessing & A Curse (Dig)

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 1,279 (税込)

レーベル:New West Records
JAN:0607396608928 売上ランキング:音楽で672832位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Feb 14
  2. Gravity's Gone
  3. Easy On Yourself
  4. Aftermath USA
  5. Goodbye
  6. Daylight
  7. Wednesday
  8. Little Bonnie
  9. Space City
  10. A Blessing And A Curse
  11. A World Of Hurt
Drive By Truckers - A Blessing and a Curse (CD)
Known for two big-idea concept albums, Southern Rock Opera (dedicated to Lynyrd Skynyrd) and The Dirty South (a 70+ minute exploration of their Alabama roots), the Drive-by Truckers here go economical with a 45+ minute rock album. Three singers (all guitarists, to boot) ensure that moods shift often, even with every voice bearing a sand-blasted quality that grit-pocks everything. Patterson Hood tackles most of the tunes, sounding like a roughed-up Faces on "Aftermath USA," detailing drugs and deterioration against boogied-up guitars, and sounding a more sensitive side on "Goodbye" and "Little Bonnie" (another in a line of Truckers' funeral tunes). With a barrel-chested croak of a voice, Mike Cooley runs down the rudderless-ness of love and desperation on "Gravity's Gone" and slow, acoustic tenderness on "Space City." The loudest guitarist, Jason Isbell, takes on two tracks: "Easy on Yourself" and "Daylight," where he alternates between wry fury and a yearning pine for more time, more space. Isbell basks in an array of slide-guitar throwdowns, always leaving a signature sound the way Skynyrd's Allen Collins and Gary Rossington did in their glory days. All in all, this is a calmer Truckers set, less ragged and more polished--but rest assured: Their live sets still smoke like their 40 Watt Club DVD from 2005. --Andrew Bartlett