Welcome to My World

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 2,615 (税込)

レーベル:High Wire Music
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で103907位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Peek A Boo
  2. Casper The Friendly Ghost
  3. Some Things Last A Long Time
  4. Walking The Cow
  5. I'm Nervous
  6. Man Obsessed
  7. Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Your Grievances
  8. Never Before Never Again
  9. The Sun Shines Down On Me
  10. Chord Organ Blues
  11. Living Life
  12. Speeding Motorcycle
  13. True Love Will Find You In The End
  14. Never Relaxed
  15. Sorry Entertainer
  16. Ain't No Woman Gonna Make A George Jones Outta Me
  17. Lennon Song
  18. Devil Town
  19. Laurie
  20. Story Of An Artist
  21. Funeral Home
He is erratic, moody, adolescent, and unsettling, just as he is strikingly brilliant, and all depictions entwine on this collection that plucks from Daniel Johnston's most memorable work throughout a quarter-century of bare-bones recording. While his helium-pitched voice can often border on acquired taste territory, Johnston, who suffers from bipolar disorder, writes both gripping melodies and cutting, cunning lyrics--often about failed love, life's ambiguity and his passion for the Beatles and comic book heroes. Any Johnston follower might choose 21 different selections to represent such a catalog, but this package--culled mostly from his '80s songbook--is both symbolic and inclusive, including a pair of chord organ grinders that are among his most familiar: the childlike "Casper the Friendly Ghost" and the wistful "Speeding Motorcycle." Johnston's raw vulnerability shines most on "Never Before Never Again," on which he howls about a former girlfriend, and the fragmented and demented "Funeral Home," where he contemplates his last car ride (to the tune of Bruce Springsteen's "Cadillac Ranch"). Welcome to My World is ideal for any newcomers to Johnston's music, provided they are willing to peel away his torment and contemplate his true genius. --Scott Holter