Eastern Promises (Score) - O.S.T.

作曲 Howard Shore
マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 6,901 (税込)

レーベル:Sony Classics
Amazon.co.jp 売上ランキング:音楽で753617位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Eastern Promises
  2. Tatiana
  3. London Streets
  4. Sometimes Birth And Death Go Together
  5. Trafalgar Hospital
  6. Vory V Zakone
  7. Slavery And Suffering
  8. Nikolai
  9. Kirill
  10. Anna Khitrova
  11. Eagle And Star
  12. Nine Elms
  13. Like a Place In the Bible
  14. Trans-Siberian Diary
This soundtrack marks composer Howard Shore's 12th collaboration with director David Cronenberg, and it's safe to say the two men have an almost symbiotic relationship at this point. Like its immediate predecessor, A History of Violence, Eastern Promises is a crime drama; this time around, however, it is set not in a very American town but among Russian gangsters in London. Shore evokes the milieu by incorporating "slavic" touches from a cimbalom (a type of hammered dulcimer), a balalaika (a triangular stringed instrument), and a tárogatóto (a woodwind) in his orchestrations, but thankfully he doesn't overdo it and turn the score into cheesy folklore. This is a taut, somber CD, where the main themes are performed by a solo violin (check out in particular "Nine Elms"). But the most arresting track may well be the slow, majestic "Slavery and Suffering", a traditional revolutionary song performed by the Red Army Choir. --Elisabeth Vincentelli