Lupe Fiasco's the Cool

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 780 (税込)

レーベル:Atlantic / Wea
JAN:0075678995996 売上ランキング:音楽で276833位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Baba Says Cool For Thought
  2. Free Chilly
  3. Go Go Gadget Flow
  4. The Coolest
  5. Superstar
  6. Paris, Tokyo
  7. Hi-Definition
  8. Gold Watch
  9. Hip-Hop Saved My Life
  10. Intruder Alert
  11. Streets On Fire
  12. Little Weapon
  13. Gotta Eat
  14. Dumb It Down
  15. Hello/Goodbye (Uncool)
  16. The Die
  17. Put You On Game
  18. Fighters
  19. Go Baby
The name of Lupe Fiasco's sophomore set sounds like a Kanye-ism, and that's fitting: The Cool spills over with Mr. West-style urgency, and it's just about as smart as anything Fiasco's more flamboyant mentor has issued. It could even land Lupe a little too close to the top of the hip-hop heap for Kanye's comfort. The Cool is cool not only for its sober, clear-headed vibe -- Fiasco ponders everything from the apocalypse to poverty to the weight of worldly possessions in these songs, some of them produced with a level of sensitivity uncommon among studio tracks by Soundtrakk -- but also for its potential. Songs like "Dumb It Down," about the music industry's insistence on the same old sorry themes, burn with relatability and realness. But others go deeper. "Little Weapon," produced by Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump, and "Intruder Alert" shape-shift customary hip-hop dialogue to let the issues of the day come sharply into focus. They make you think. Overall, The Cool is fevered, fierce, and at times furious, but so is Lupe Fiasco, and the album easily earns its spot as one of the top 10 CDs of 2007. --Tammy La Gorce