Vampire Weekend [輸入盤CD] (XLCD318)

マーケットプレイス価格:¥ 750 (税込)

レーベル:XL Recordings
JAN:0735084526336 売上ランキング:音楽で58146位

[ Amazonの詳細ページへ ]
  1. Mansard Roof
  2. Oxford Comma
  3. A-Punk
  4. Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa
  5. M79
  6. Campus
  7. Bryn
  8. One (Blake's Got A New Face)
  9. I Stand Corrected
  10. Walcott
  11. The Kids Don't Stand A Chance
It would take a lot for Vampire Weekend's debut to rise above the stench of privileged hype that surrounds it. A bunch of kids who formed the band in their Columbia dorm room borrow wholesale from Afrobeat and angular '80s stuff, and they quickly become an online buzz band before releasing a single album? Thankfully the record, and the band, are great fun: playful, pop-wise, and smart enough to pull their shtick off with aplomb. Organ and drums are often the focal point of the music, bringing to mind a goofier, happier Clinic (if that group's record-collecting habits were more scattershot). On the excellently named (and better sounding) "Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa," Vampire Weekend asks, "Does it feel so unnatural / To Peter Gabriel too?," immediately disarming--with self-aware brazenness--any criticism of their pomo/postcolonialist borrowing of "ethnic" music. It's clear that these dudes have not only inherited the nerd-rock omnivore's mantle from the Talking Heads, they've actually and already improved upon it. --Mike McGonigal