RESPECTING PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES: KATIE PLAYS BASKETBALL (Kids' Hapiness Action Series | Learning to be Ethical) (English Edition)


The animal friends learn that there is a new student in the school, who is blind. She introduces herself to the class and tells them about her blindness and her seeing-eye dog Keller. The animal friends are interested and ask lots of questions, which Katie is happy to answer. Later that day, in the school hallway, some students are rude and mean to Katie because of her disability. The animal friends defend her, and then they all discover a clever way to include her in their game.


Critical Importance of Social Skills and Moral Identity

Empirical evidence and dedicated research demonstrate the importance of social skills to be acquired by children including the 4- to 8-year-olds. The development of social skills provides for an essential foundation for later success in learning as well as prepares children to deal with the real-world situations in their future lives.

Likewise, it is critically important to help children develop a deep commitment to moral values. Developing children's morality is about preventing children from suffering high levels of shame, envy, fear, or other destructive emotions and helping children manage these feelings.

Early Childhood Development And 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda

Children are the basis for all dimensions of sustainable development. Linking early childhood development and sustainable development is important because health, learning and behavior during children’s early years are foundational not only for school success, but also for their capacity to contribute meaningfully to society.

While these considerations are important in shaping up the 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda itself, it is equally important that the 4- to 8-year-olds have an opportunity to know the Sustainable Development Goals and to understand what constitutes sustainable behavior as a means to maximize their future contributions to sustainable development.

All 25 books of the Kids Happiness Action Series (cut and paste the link in your browser):

Theme 1: Learning to Be Ethical
Respect for Elderly:
Respecting People with Disabilities:

Theme 2: Learning to Be Successful
Positive Thinking:
How to Make Good Friends:
How to Overcome Fears:
Self-Confidence and Success:
Striving for Knowledge:

Theme 3: Caring for Our Environment
Caring for Plants:
Respect for Food:
Water Conservation:
Energy Conservation:
Caring for Animals:

Theme 4: Learning Self-Management
Time-Management and Planning:
Which Games Are Right and Which Aren’t:
Keeping Personal Belongings in Order:
Smart Ways to Use Internet:
Living in a Tidy Home:

Theme 5: Learning to Stay Healthy
Physical Exercise:
Eating Healthy:
Being Mindful of Our Eyesight:
Cleanliness and Hygiene:
Being Mindful of Electricity: